Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation

Moderators: Jury, Race Committee

Locked
kiwi_bardy
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:28 am

Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation

Post by kiwi_bardy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:42 pm

Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation
1. Your registered Boat Name: kiwi_bardy
2. Race Day #: 4
3. Group: Green
4. Race #: 2
5. Time(inReplay): 11.25 to 12.25 with the penalty awarded at 11.48
6. Rule(s) applicable: 31.1, 18.2A, 64.1(a)
7. Skipper(s)involved: Flowtation, Zhik Ineos Rebels, kiwi_bardy
8. Description: Approaching the 1st top mark Flowtation was overlapped to leeward of Zhik, who in turn was overlapped to leeward of Infinity G. kiwi_bardy was clear astern by about 4 boatlengths.Flowtation luffed to make the mark. Zhik and Infinity both luffed to attempt to keep clear. Flowtation hit the mark and got a 31.1 penalty at 11.44. At 11.45 there is contact between Flowtation and Zhik. At this point the mark was approximately halfway down Flowtation's port side, and I was 1 1/2 lengths astern and luffing to go above them.

Flowtation then got squeezed between Zhik and the mark and started coming backwards towards me. Flowtation was going backwards as a result of Zhik failing to keep clear of Flowtation. Flowtation came backwards and hit me at 11.48, and I received an 18.2a penalty. It was roughly 3 second from when Flowtation started coming backwards and when he hit me. I could not tack to avoid him as Q23 and Colbri UNT were to windward of me.

I think I should be exonerated under 64.1(a)

I requested the penalty to be cancelled, and it was. I had been stopped and could no longer make the mark, so I bore away, gybed and tacked to the mark, typed "360 done", and typed "I did a 360 anyway"

9. Print Screen attached: Y
10. Replay attached: Y
Attachments
bandicam 2018-11-13 10-52-59-981.jpg
bandicam 2018-11-13 10-52-59-981.jpg (281.28 KiB) Viewed 953 times
11-48-35 lateral 18-2a penalty for me.JPG
11-48-35 lateral 18-2a penalty for me.JPG (47.03 KiB) Viewed 953 times
11-45-10 from above 18-2a pen for zhik.JPG
11-45-10 from above 18-2a pen for zhik.JPG (37.39 KiB) Viewed 953 times
11-43-36 from above 31-1 pen for flowtation.JPG
11-43-36 from above 31-1 pen for flowtation.JPG (32.33 KiB) Viewed 953 times

kiwi_bardy
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation

Post by kiwi_bardy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:43 pm

Replay this time, 4 attachments seems to be the limit.
Attachments
11-47-12 lateral can see flowtation going backwards on mark.JPG
11-47-12 lateral can see flowtation going backwards on mark.JPG (48.37 KiB) Viewed 952 times
11-46-34 lateral flowtation starts coming backwards.JPG
11-46-34 lateral flowtation starts coming backwards.JPG (53.51 KiB) Viewed 952 times
11-25-30 astern.JPG
11-25-30 astern.JPG (68.71 KiB) Viewed 952 times
MLS GreenDay4 TP52 Race 2.Replay.Gbx
(3.11 MiB) Downloaded 74 times

kiwi_bardy
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation

Post by kiwi_bardy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:45 pm

Final screenshots.

More available if anyone wants nice wallpaper.
Attachments
12-24-87 360 complete.JPG
12-24-87 360 complete.JPG (35.9 KiB) Viewed 951 times
11-59-85 bearing aay to turn.JPG
11-59-85 bearing aay to turn.JPG (32.03 KiB) Viewed 951 times
11-48-35 lateral 18-2a penalty for me.JPG
11-48-35 lateral 18-2a penalty for me.JPG (47.03 KiB) Viewed 951 times

Spirillen
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Season 8, Race Day 4, Group Green, Race 2, Cancel Explanation

Post by Spirillen » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:35 pm

Flowtation tries to pass the buoy by forcing without tack, but has not taken into account the current that pushes it on the buoy, Flowtation therefore receives a 31.1 and is stopped on the buoy.

Kiwi brandon come from behind, sees that Flowtation is stopped and tries to get to the wind quickly enough to avoid it.
The current pushes Zhik into Flowtation, and as a result of the contact, Flowtation is pushed backwards.
Kiwi shall not foresee, that Zhik is breaking the rules on Flow, and pushing backwards. By the time Flow starts to move backwards, Kiwi has nowhere to go, and should be exonerated under 64.1(a).

Further more, looking at the replay, PC finds that Flowtation didn't round the mark, even though Nadeo think so. To sail the course, one has to leave the marks to the correct side, also in the case where one hasn't but Nadeo think one.

Zhik takes a pen turn for his contact with Flowtation.

Decision:
Kiwi pen cancel accepted, no further action.
Flowtation DNF for not sailing the course.

Note to Kiwi: Please do not post all those screenshot, the PC is perfectly capeble to analyze the incident theme self.

PC for MLS

Locked