Season 11 - Day#3 - Server Blue - Race#3 - Explanation - Toppen vs Nick-Cromit

Moderators: Jury, Race Committee

Post Reply
Toppen
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:02 pm

Season 11 - Day#3 - Server Blue - Race#3 - Explanation - Toppen vs Nick-Cromit

Post by Toppen »

Submission Type: E

1.Your registered Boat Name: Toppen

2.Race Day: #3

3.Group (colour): Blue

4.Race (number): #3

5.Time (in Replay): 20:39

6.Rule(s) applicable: 17.1 instead of 11

7.Skipper(s) involved: Toppen & Nick-Cromit

8.Description:
We are rounding downwind mark.
Toppen is leeward of Nick-Cromit
Nick-Cromit doesn't luff in order to be close-hauled during 15 seconds
Both boats pass the mark, so Nick-Cromit mustn't be protected under RRS18
Toppen asks "up" in chat as you can see attached in order to become close-hauled
Nick-Cromit doesn't answer to the "up"
Toppen receives RRS17.1 at 20:41 because Nadeo considers that Toppen hasn't passed the mark because of Nick-Cromit's slow rounding
Then, when Nick-Cromit luffs, there is a contact at 20:43:62, so Nick-Cromit should be DSQ for breaking RRS11


9.Print Screen attached (required for a valid PROTEST): Yes
unknown.png
unknown.png (1.58 MiB) Viewed 91 times
10.Replay attached (optional): Yes,
MLS11_Day3_Race3_ServerBlue.Gbx
(3.27 MiB) Downloaded 5 times

Albervita
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:57 pm

Re: Season 11 - Day#3 - Server Blue - Race#3 - Explanation - Toppen vs Nick-Cromit

Post by Albervita »

From Albervita on behalf of Nick Cromit.
Nick Cromit simply did his course by paying attention not to collide with other boats. 17.1 was clearly wrong and has been cancelled ; Toppen did not have any damage in his race.

Toppen
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: Season 11 - Day#3 - Server Blue - Race#3 - Explanation - Toppen vs Nick-Cromit

Post by Toppen »

Albervita,

Nick-Cromit could luff after mark in order to sail his proper race, he was protected from all leeward boats under RRS18 because he was inside.

I didn't have any damage ?
His move (to not luff) made us lose 15 seconds, and we all ended up leeward of boats in front of us, so in their windshadow...

And in both replays (host and mine), there is a contact when Nick-Cromit luffs.
I didn't lose lots of speed, but a contact is a contact.
And for me, RRS11 was even broken before, when Nick-Cromit didn't answer to my call (Up).
I gave him plenty of time to luff and he failed.

User avatar
PC Admin
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:18 pm

Re: Season 11 - Day#3 - Server Blue - Race#3 - Explanation - Toppen vs Nick-Cromit

Post by PC Admin »

Facts:
> Toppen established overlap too leeward of Nick-Cromit from clear astern
> Toppen luffed slowly after rounding the mark, always below TWA 28
> Nick-Cromit did not respond promptly
> Toppen got a 17.1 penalty from the VSK Umpire (because VSK thought he was on previous leg)
> When Nick-Cromit responded by luffing, the separation between the boats was less than half a meter
> A course change to windward from Toppen would result in immediate contact
> The 17.1 penalty from the VSK Umpire was wrong

Decision:
> Cancel accepted
> Nick-Cromit DSQ for breaking rule 11

MLS Protest Committee

Post Reply