Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

donmasino
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by donmasino »

Thanks for the reply
In my replay Zeepol broke rule 30.1 and broke rule 22.1 damaging Marino
I think I need to change replays in my game

User avatar
euphoria
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by euphoria »

Hi Rosario,

There is nothing wrong with your replay, only mixing up with rules interpretation.

Did you not read the reply I gave to Alberto?
You are not subject to rule 22.1 before you have turned back sailing towards the line.
Right of way initially remains unchanged if you are over early.

Zee did not break rule 30.1. She complied with that rule. This is easy to mix up, most people do that actually. Only if Zee had not sailed around the end of the line and restarted, she would have broken rule 30.1.

Harald

Albervita
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:57 pm

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by Albervita »

Thx Harald for your explanations about 22.1.
As it is written now in RRS your application of 22.1 match perfectly: ok.
That wording "...or to comply with rule 30.1 shall keep clear ..." is confusing me.
Does this mean, as you say just above, that 30.1 is not a penalty strictly speaking but just a warning to come back and restart the line and all along this time should be considered as a boat normally started ?

Thx for your time
Alberto

User avatar
euphoria
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by euphoria »

Hi Alberto,

Yes you are right. On real water, the boats doesn't know for sure what boats the OCS flag is for. So even if a boat has been noted as OCS on the notepad of the race committee, she may believe she was not OCS, and sail the rest of the race. It would not work if normal rules would not apply on her during the race, without anyone knowing it. It could also be that the identification of the OCS boat was wrong, and she could prove in a hearing for redress, that the race committee had mistaken her for another boat.

We don't have such issues in VSK, but it would not work to change the rules to immediately remove right of way from a boat that is OCS. She may have a boat to windward, a boat to leeward and a boat clear astern, and then she would have nowhere to go...

Harald

donmasino
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by donmasino »

thanks Harald for your clear and precise explanations
Sorry for my school English
Maybe this rule 30.1 and 22.1 in virtualskipper should be changed
But that's my thought
Hi

User avatar
euphoria
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Season 12, Race Day 4, Group Blue, Race 1

Post by euphoria »

Yes, it could be possible to add a rule that says that an OCS boat shall minimize interfering with boats that are not OCS.
This is how most boats sail in practice already.

Harald

Post Reply