SERVER BLUE - DAY 3 - RACE 1

Post Reply
piratabra23
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2022 9:54 pm

SERVER BLUE - DAY 3 - RACE 1

Post by piratabra23 »

Submission Type: CANCEL EXPLANATION

1. Your registered boat name: Pirata

2. Group: blue

3. Race (number): 1

4. Time of incident (in replay): 10:10:34

5. Rule(s) applicable: 11

6. Boat(s) involved: Perry , Djonny

7. Description: I was sailing starboard on my proper course approaching the first mark until some leeward boats started to push the boats up who were already in a tight layline. In the mark rounding all boats involved start to sailing higher and I tried to avoid contact all the time, but I was blocked by Djonny on my windward and I could not respond to Perry`s last moment move.

8. Print Screen attached (required for a manual protest): yes

9. Replay attached (recommended):
Attachments
1667946130576.jpeg
1667946130576.jpeg (1.12 MiB) Viewed 1543 times
User avatar
euphoria
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: SERVER BLUE - DAY 3 - RACE 1

Post by euphoria »

Facts:


5 boats (Petter, Perry, Pirata, Djonny and LuisRomAbar) approaching the mark together.
Order at the zone:
- Petter overlapped inside of Pirata, Djonny and LuisRomAbar
- Petter clear ahead of Perry
- Perry inside of Pirata, Djonny and LuisRomAbar
- Pirata inside of Djonny and LuisRomAbar
- Djonny inside of LuisRomAbar

There was contact between Perry and Pirata and between Djonny and LuisRomAbar.

Conclusion:
All had to give mark-room to Petter.
And Pirata to Perry, Djonny to Pirata, LuisRomAbar to Djonny.
LuisRomAbar did not give mark-room to Djonny, hence broke rule 18.2(b) and 11. Luis took a pen turn.
Djonny did not give mark-room to Pirata, broke rule 18.2(b) and 11 but is exonerated because LuisRomAbar did not give him room.
Pirata did not give mark-room to Perry, broke rule 18.2(b) and 11 but is exonerated because Djonny did not give him room.

Decision:
Cancellation from Pirata accepted.

The protest committee
LuisRomAbar SAT
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: SERVER BLUE - DAY 3 - RACE 1

Post by LuisRomAbar SAT »

What about rule 17 between Pirata and Perry?!
User avatar
euphoria
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: SERVER BLUE - DAY 3 - RACE 1

Post by euphoria »

17 and 18 would give the same result. If Perry is sailing within his mark-room, then he is not sailing above his proper course. If he is taking too much room, then he also is breaking 17.
It was considered acceptable by Perry to go up, because he probably thought it was too risky going on the inside of Petter, hitting the sterns of the slow boats in front. He could not know that Jimi would leave so much room between the mark and his leeward side. Borderline case, and the benefit of the doubt goes with the accused here.

Harald
Post Reply

Return to “Race Day 3”