Season 9, Day Grande Finale, Race 3, E

Moderators: Protest Committee, Race Committee

Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:46 am

Season 9, Day Grande Finale, Race 3, E

Post by Wetstuff »

Submission Type: Explanation

1. Your registered Boat Name: Wetstuff

2. Race Day: Finale

3. Group: Final

4. Race : 3

5. Time (in Replay): 14:19

6. Rule(s) applicable: 10

7. Skipper(s) involved: LG07

8. Description: Rounding the dog leg to go downwind clear ahead of LG07 I gybe at the mark for downwind and get a 10. I believe I sail proper course to rounding and in any case avoid contact by gybing back

9. Print Screen attached: (required for a valid PROTEST)

10. Replay attached: (optional)
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Season 9, Day Grande Finale, Race 3, E

Post by Spirillen »

Wetstuff is clear ahead og LG07, when Wetstuff enters the zone, and therefore LG07 shall give mark room to Wetstuff. LG07 gives mark room, and Wetstuff gybes at mark, to sail what he think is his prober course. After Wetstuf has gybes, LG07 rounds the mark, and starts to bear down, and as a result here of, LG07 and Wetstuff comes on a collision course.
Since LG07 now is ROW and LG07 changes, RRS 16.1 is turned on, and LG07 shall give Wetstuff time and opportunity to still keep clear, and at the same time Wetstuff has to immediately try to keep clear.
Both boats do so, Wetstuff by gybing to starboard, and LG07 by gybing to port. There is no contact, and therefore no boat breaks any rules.

Wetstuff pen cancel accepted, no further action.
LG07 no action.

PC for MLS

Return to “Grande Finale”